Hello – Cranberry Apple Hand Pies

cranberry apple handpies 2

Hello. It’s me.

The first time I heard that one song on the radio from that one artist who recently sold over 4 million albums, I switched stations halfway through.

Boring.

Then I heard it again. And I switched stations. The other station was also playing the same song. Switch. Generic summer pop song fades out, then – Hello.

It’s been a month. Now I listen to the entire song. And when it’s over and I tune my car radio in search of the rare station that isn’t playing a commercial cajoling Tony to buy a diamond ring for his girlfriend this Christmas, I stop when I hear “Hello, can you hear me?”

HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIIIIIIIIDE

Ahem.

cranberry apple handpies 3

So, these pies. Crust to filling ratio, 2:1. Apparently I make great pie crust. Every time I make a pie, people ask me to bake all the unused scraps of pie dough and serve them with the pie next time. Something about the normal ratio of pie filling to pie crust leaves true pie crust enthusiasts wanting.

I am firmly in the “let me eat cake” camp. I couldn’t understand the consistent requests for more pie crust. But after all these years of eating buttery, flaky pie crust, I’m starting to think my crust-loving friends are onto something.

HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIIIIIIIIDE

cranberry apple handpies

Cranberry Apple Hand Pies
Makes 12-14 hand pies, depending on how thin you roll out your dough.

Pie Crust
See my no-fail pie crust recipe here.
1 lightly beaten egg
Sugar for sprinkling

Cranberry Apple Filling
2 cups fresh cranberries (now dirt cheap at Costco!)
2 medium apples, peeled and diced
Zest from one lemon or orange (I used a Meyer lemon)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, cook down the cranberries and apples until the cranberries pop and the apples soften slightly, 2-3 minutes. Stir regularly to prevent the fruit from burning.
  2. Add the sugar, zest, and cinnamon and continue to cook, stirring occasionally, until the mixture becomes thick and jammy, about 15 minutes. Remove from heat. Allow mixture to cool.
  3. If, like me, you stupidly diced your apples into large chunks that won’t fit into your hand pies, take a potato masher to your filling and mash up them apples until you have a nice chunky jam. Then allow your mixture to cool.
  4. Preheat the oven to 425˚F and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.
  5. Roll out your dough to at least 1/8″ thick. If you want thinner crusts and more pies, shoot for 1/16″ thick.
  6. Using a 2″ round cutter, cut out 24 (or 28, or in my imperfect world, 26) discs of dough, placing half of them on the baking sheet.
  7. Spoon a tablespoon or so of filling into the middle of each round, brush the edges with beaten egg, then top with another round.
  8. Pinch the two rounds closed using your fingers or a fork, then pierce the top of the pies to make steam vents.
  9. Brush the tops of the pies with beaten egg, then sprinkle with sugar for an added crunch.
  10. Bake for 15-20 minutes until the pies are golden brown. The thicker your crust is, the longer you should keep it in the oven. Mine took about 20 minutes.

Good luck getting Hello out of your head now. You’re welcome.

Also, cake is still my true love. Shhhh.

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Angela G. says:

    These look absolutely lovely! And somehow very Christmassy, yes! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! xx

    https://angieisagirl.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. clairehwang says:

      Cranberries are perfect for the holidays 🙂 Thanks Angela!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

