Change – Tater Tot Poutine

tater-tot-poutine-1

The world is a changed place. Interpret that statement how you will. Me, I’ll stick to the bright and cheerful. I bought a new pair of jeans after finally wearing a hole in the pair I’ve been wearing since college. I’ve been told these magical jeans give me the semblance of a butt. I’m no longer at the bottom of the food chain at work – promoted from zooplankton to krill! Persimmons are in season. It’s been getting chilly and I’m too lazy to turn the heater on but I have obtained a pair of memory foam house slippers that are criminally comfortable. I also have a little something weighing down my ring finger gifted to me by the man sitting to my right playing World of Tanks. It’s Veterans Day Weekend and there’s 5x experience.

Little did I realize before, but there are many benefits to having a man around. I don’t have a problem with killing spiders, but that unsavory task can easily be delegated these days. I get to mooch off his Amazon Prime, Spotify, and Netflix accounts. I get to shamelessly eat off his plate when we go out, thus enhancing my restaurant experience with a greater variety of dishes sampled.  He can reach the apples on the tree that I can’t reach and drive from San Jose to Los Angeles in one sitting while I snore at his side.

tater-tot-poutine-2

In recent months, I’ve also come to realize firsthand that the “men love meat and potatoes” stereotype seems to be quite accurate. Well, he’ll happily eat anything I make. But there’s a special twinkle in his eye that appears and a particularly affectionate hug I receive when I announce there are deep fried potatoes making an appearance in our meal. I try not to give in to those “please let me eat french fries” puppy eyes too often but every once in a while, there are occasions that call for a little special something. So in lieu of a decadent cake to celebrate my new bling, here’s a dish combining not one, not two, but five of his great loves. Tater tots, Japanese curry, cheese, bacon, and egg. And of course, he gets to eat it with me, his greatest love of all. Hehehehehe.

tater-tout-poutine-3

I love you, my dear. Here’s to many years of happy feasting (and exercising!!!) together.

img_5869

Tater Tot Poutine

This is my interpretation of a dish from a local restaurant that I have never eaten. The dish is no longer on their menu, but many thanks go to helpful Yelp pictures and my fiancé’s stellar memory (“The sauce was more…curry.”) for helping bring this dish back to life.

Serves 2

1 lb frozen tater tots
2-3 oz Swiss cheese, grated (about a handful when grated)
2 strips bacon
1 stalk green onion
1 large egg
1 cup chicken broth
1 block Japanese curry roux (one pack can be broken into many small blocks, I’m referring to one of those small blocks)
1 tsp flour
2 tsp water
black pepper to taste

  1. Prepare the tater tots according to the package instructions. I baked my tater tots, but deep frying is always an option. If you choose to deep fry, preheat the oven to 450˚F for melting the cheese later. If you choose to bake, leave the oven on after you remove the tater tots.
  2. While the tater tots are baking/frying, grate the cheese and dice the green onion.
  3. In a small saucepan, bring the chicken broth to a boil and dissolve the curry block in the broth. Add fresh-ground black pepper to taste. Bring the curry sauce down to a simmer and allow to reduce by nearly half.
  4. Make a slurry by dissolving 1 tsp of flour in roughly 2 tsp of water. As the curry sauce is boiling, stir the slurry in. Allow the sauce to boil for 1-2 minutes more until it thickens before removing from heat.
  5. Remove the tater tots from the baking sheet/frying pan and arrange them in a small, oven-safe serving dish. I used a small cast iron skillet.
  6. Spoon the curry sauce over the tater tots and top with grated cheese. Place the dish in the oven for 4-5 minutes to melt the cheese.
  7. While the tater tots are in the oven, crisp the bacon strips on the stove. Once crisp, remove from heat, drain on a paper towel, and dice into small bits.
  8. Fry the egg to your desired doneness (sunny side up highly recommended) in the bacon grease.
  9. Remove tater tots from the oven and sprinkle with diced green onion and bacon.
  10. Top with a fried egg and serve immediately.
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Queenie says:

    Ok, I just perused through your blog as I was getting reading to read the LS of Ezekiel. First of all, congratulations!! I cannot believe i’ve missed out on so much (not your engagement, but all the yummy reads). Maybe I’ll maybe something from here one of these days, any suggestions on which post I should attempt to recreate? 🙂 Hope life is going well!

    Like

    1. clairehwang says:

      Hi Queenie! Thank youuu 😀 What kind of recipe are you looking for? I can’t even remember what I’ve posted hah, I had to scroll through all my old posts for a refresher. If you’re looking for dessert I highly recommend the apple cake (an oldie but a good one!) since it’s apple season…it’s also a pretty darn delicious cake. Sesame cream puffs are also really good!

      Hope all is well with you (and David)! Will you be coming down for the Thanksgiving conference?

      Like

  2. hannahelaine says:

    Yayy!! :)) Love this post and that you shared the news on your blog. Congratulations, Claire!! I heard the news from Amy and I immediately texted Jen Tai for details. Very happy news and like the fitting post!

    Like

    1. clairehwang says:

      Thanks Hannah! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

