I’m a Noob – Pink Grapefruit Lemonade

Dear faithful readers,

Guess who used the auto mode on her mother’s old Canon DSLR (too scary to try using the other modes), downloaded the free 7-day trial of Lightroom (not ready to pay $9.99 a month yet), watched a 15 minute all-you-need-to-know-about-Lightroom-crammed-into-as-little-time-as-possible tutorial video on Youtube (the guy talked really fast but hey, he seemed to know his stuff), and churned out some badly composed, badly shot, and badly edited photos for her 100% amateur food blog?

grapefruit lemonade 1

Alas, my fantastic photographer is moving away for her next great step in life and I am left bereft of and sorely lacking in photographic capabilities. I’ve also been binge watching The Great British Baking Show (oh the wholesomeness! oh the Britishness!) and have come to realize that if I were ever to find myself attempting to bake a fougasse in that great white tent, dear Mary Berry and icy-eyed Paul would probably kick me out the very first weekend.

grapefruit lemonade 2

After meeting the Husband, I also came to realize that gaming (of the video/computer variety) is a skill that I, the n00b who physically flinches and shrinks back when another virtual avatar shoots in the general direction of my own virtual avatar, cannot dream of possessing. I close my eyes when zombies appear onscreen (bawk bawwwwk), my shoulders tense and knot as my health points drop lower and lower due to my complete inability to conduct evasive maneuvers, and when I inevitably am digitally offed I screech, pout, and give up.

grapefruit lemonade 4

So yes, I’m a noob in many respects. I’m perfectly content to leave the online WWII-era tank driving and machine gun zombie-razing to the mister. Bread-baking practice should probably wait until I’ve lost 20 pounds. But photography and photo-editing? Well I guess you all will just have to suffer through many months of trial and error.

grapefruit lemonade 3

My sincere apologies. Now let us turn away from the unpleasant composition of the above photo and focus our attention on this lovely pink grapefruit lemonade recipe. It’s easy! It’s breezy! It’s beautiful! Make it for yourself. And if you should decide to test your photography skills, trust me – pitchers are flipping hard to photograph.

Sincerely, your resident Photography Noob

Pink Grapefruit Lemonade

4 large pink grapefruits
3 medium lemons
1 cup granulated sugar
5 cups water

  1. Make a simple syrup by combining the sugar and 1 cup of water in a small saucepan over medium heat. Allow to boil gently until the sugar is completely dissolved. Remove from heat.
  2. Juice the grapefruits and 2 lemons and pour the juice into a pitcher. I like to keep the pulp, but make sure to pick out any seeds.
  3. Add 4 cups of water and the simple syrup to the pitcher and stir thoroughly to combine.
  4. Thinly slice the remaining lemon and add to the pitcher as a garnish.
  5. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours until thoroughly chilled, then serve and enjoy.
IMG_6793
I’ll miss youuuuuuuu!!!

 

Leave a Reply

